......................................THE BAND AND RECORD OF THE MONTH
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - Logo
Tucana are a Swedish progressive rock band, and an amazing recent discovery, however,  according their history, the group started their musical career since late 1980's, as a band called "Wistaria", around the last years and with some changes in the line-up, they decided to change the name to Tucana. With this considerably delayed, only now the band and their music, arises in the world scene of Progressive Rock. After these long years, the group finally released, in late 2012, their debut album , which I have the pleasure to consider as a masterpiece, a new concept to construe and play a different and energetic kind of progressive rock music. The musicians on the band describe their style, as a "Baroque Progressive Music", meanwhile, in my opinon,  I consider that, they really know how to develop an intelligent and creative blend of several styles, a special kind of progressive rock, gathering many symphonic elements and epic orchestrations, with touches of traditional progressive rock elements of 70's, adding the energy and potent instrumental sound of the Prog Metal, the gentle touch of baroque and folk music, and finally closing with strong and traditional voices, originating from the heavy metal and the hard rock. I believe that, all these years, each member on the band contributed handsomely, to create this incredible musical style, and this unbelievable album, adding original ideas, but derived from the most traditional rock styles, a fascinating communion of musical interests from this wondrous quintet, together trying break up all common musical paradigms, and revelling a new way to play Progressive Rock. Tucana has made an impressive debut album, full of awesome Scandinavian progressive rock music. The album is a little gem for the lovers of guitar orientated prog. The music is drenched with tasteful guitar works, uniquely drived by Micke Larsson. Keyboards are the sauce of the guitar, vocais and backing vocals adorn the arrangements, bass and drums, as always, complementing the great musical work. The album contains ten tracks, 65 minutes of a pure musical emotion, all tracks have an excellent musical performance, but I have my favorites, and they are  "The Signs", "Rescue Me", "The Needle of Ended Days", "A Dream Within a Dream", "Seven", "At the Gates of War", entretanto, "Redemption", "Power of Man" and "Like Dust" are the masterpieces on this album, of course, these last three songs conveys a real musical feeling that the group want to passes for listeners. Brilliant and fantastic, an amazing album and band, highly recommendable...

The line-up on Tucana album are:
Jonas Nitz - Keyboards, Piano, String Arrangements and Backing Vocals
Micke Larsson - Guitars
Jari Katila - Drums
Niklas Birgersson - Vocals
Johnny Rosengren - Bass

Earlier members of the band:
Magnus Andersson - Drums - 1989 - 1991
Magnus Carlberger - Keyboards and Guitar - 1989 - 1991
Mikael Gullmes - Keyboards - 1989 - 1991
Uffe Johansson - Bass - 1990 - 1991
Stefan Lindgren - Guitar, Keyboards - 1992 - 1995


The band was formed in 1989 when the band took their new name Wistaria.

With the new name change from Tucana, there was also a line up change where Jonas Nitz left the band, leaving Niclas Birgersson (vocals and writer) and Magnus Carlberger (keyboards, guitar and writer) searching for new members.

From left to right: Jonas Nits (Keyboards); Mikael Larsson (Guitar); Jari Katila (Drums); Niclas Birgersson (Vocals); Johnny Rosengren (Bass).

Shortly after the reformation, Mikael Larsson joined in on Guitars, followed by Magnus Andersson on drums. In March 1989 Johnny Rosengren joined as the new bass player and the band was almost complete. Because of the complexity of the music, a second keyboardist was needed. After Wistarias first 5 song Demo, Mikael Gullmes joined the band late 1989 by showing of his talents in a very extreme way.

In 1990 the band was recording their 12 song demo and rehearsing for the coming shows, but in April the same year, after their debut concert Johnny left the band after disagreements.

A new bass player, Uffe Johansson, was recruited for a coming demo and some more shows, but shortly after, Mikael Larsson also left the band. Wistaria continued for a while longer, but the air had gone out of the band, as well as the lust to play. When Niclas decided to leave, the end was imminent.

The story could have ended there, but it didnít.

When it looked like the band had totally dissolved, Niclas Birgersson reunited with guitarist Mikael Larsson. Together they started working with the new guitarist Stefan Lindgren, although at this time, they didnít call themselves Wistaria. A demo was recorded in 1992 bringing in the old bass player Johnny Rosengren for old times sake. There where other constellations as well during this time, with Magnus Carlberger and Mikael Larsson. This continued for a couple of years.

By the end of the millennium, Niclas and Mikael, who had continued to work together, decided that it would be under the name of Wistaria, although they never really got out there.

Many years later, in 2008, the very first original keyboard player from when the band was still named Tucana arrived as the new keyboardist. Jonas Nitz started helping the band to restructure the songs. Shortly after, they recruited the original bass player Johnny Rosengren to the band once more.

In 2010 the new drummer Jari Katila joined the band. Shortly after that, the recordings for the debut album began.

But with recording issues and other problems lining up, the band who re took the name Tucana, so they would not be mixed up with another band with the name "Wistaria", have been struggling to get the recording down.

The first single "A Dream Within A Dream" ArtP015 (Digital single only) was released 31st October 2012 by Art Performance Production and the full lenght self titled album "Tucana" ArtP017 will be released the 5th December 2012.

New Release


01) The Signs 
02) Rescue Me 
03) The Needle of
......Ended Days 
04) A Dream Within
......a Dream 
05) Stranded Illusions 
06) Redemption 
07) Power of Man 
08) Seven 
09) At the Gates of War
10) Like Dust 

All songs written by: Niklas Birgersson, Micke Larsson and Jonas Nitz. Lyrics by Niklas Birgersson. Recorded by
Jonas Nitz. Mixed by Mikael Lundin at Over the Hill Productions. Täby Sweden. Produced by Johnny Rosengren and Mikael Lundin. Mastered by Lars Rosin Ljud AB. Tucana Logo by Mikael Larsson. Picture by Rune Nitz. Layout by Jihnny Rosengren.

Art Performance Production

and order your album or simply buy a digital download at CD Baby, Amazon and iTunes. 

Also you can visit Tucana at:
Facebook Site

For more information and every thing about the musicians and band, please visit TUCANA HOME PAGEN
This page was optimized
for use with Internet Explorer, Chrome, FireFox and Netscape. For best view please use  800x600 HiColor
Bands and Artists Contact, questions or comments, live dates and news

Please send e-mail to: Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal

Back To
Main Page