......................................THE BAND AND RECORD OF THE MONTH
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - Logo
. MAY 2007
Having listen them for first time, I was impressed by this magnificent Grecian band. I consider Dol Ammad such as an Electronic, Melodic Progressive Rock, Symphonic and Epic Power Metal band made of up five virtuoso musicians. It´s fantastic their intensive musical performances, everything turns around complex sounds and instrumental atmospheres, mixing different musical styles. The music from Dol Ammad, alternate between intesives vocals, seven beautiful women and sevem men, creating a sublime fusion of Classic Music with the Progressive, Metal and Electronic Music. Although, the main musical energy, is generated by an impressive number of electronic keyboards, symphonic arrangements to create a deep space cosmic excursion, followed by nice bass lines, sometimes the drums section tends to be more into the best Power Metal style, sometimes go on arount in a typical Progressive Rock style. Many of the tracks are developed under a superb orchestration, they sound like nothing you've ever heard before. Dol Ammad is an amazing band and "Ocean Dynamics" a great album and has plenty of variation to keep the listener on an introspective journey, through many varied rock style`s. Brilliant and fantastic, highly recommendable...

The musicians on the Dol Ammad band are:
Thanasis Lightbridge - Synthesizers
Alex Holzwarth - Drums & Percussion
Dim - Electric Guitar 
Nick Terry - Bass Guitar
DC Cooper - Guest Vocals on “Aquatic Majesty” 
Mary Palaska - Soprano
Kortessa Tsifodimou - Soprano
Alexandra Voulgari - Soprano
Vicky Alexaki - Alto
Sofia Patsi - Alto
Maria Stolaki - Alto
Ntina Strani - Alto
Alexandros Barmpas - Tenor
Panos Iampoultakis - Tenor
Themis Mpasdekis - Tenor
Anestis Papageorgiou - Tenor
Kyriakos Chouvardas - Bass
Petros Moraitis - Bass
Yiannis Tsalouhidis - Bass


Dol Ammad is the music spaceship that combines 3 initially very different music worlds and ultimately proves that good music should be free of rules, unprejudiced and universal. Mixing elements from the electronic, the operatic and the heavy metal music worlds, Dol Ammad have created a new universe of sounds and feelings. Their music is characterized by the plethora of sounds, the adventurous compositions and the now 14 member choir (7 men – 7 women) who are the “singer” in Dol Ammad.

Formed in the year 2000 Dol Ammad is the brainchild of composer Thanasis Lightbridge. Growing up with the influences of the great electronic masters such as "Jean Michel Jarre" and "Vangelis", Thanasis Lightbridge discovered along the way the energetic and powerful world of heavy metal which changed the way he thought about music. Dol Ammad is the effortless result of his creative and exploring nature, giving out a highly descriptive, unpredictable and artistic sound that is totally fresh and original.

The band describes itself as “Electronica – Art – Metal” and in 2002 Dol Ammad were presented and interviewed in the "Music University" of Thessaloniki Greece for giving birth to a new music genre! 

Dol Ammad released 2 demo CDs in 2001 and 2002 which were incredibly well received by the metal world.

In 2003 Dol Ammad recruited the talents of one of the best power/ progressive drummers in the world, Alex Holzwarth ("Rhapsody", "Sieges Even"), whose input was recorded and produced in Germany’s “Gate Studio” by Sascha Paeth and Olaf Reitmeier. Their much awaited debut album “Star Tales” was released in November 2004. It features 12 tracks of operatic and Progressive Fantasy Metal lasting 62 minutes! “Star Tales” received amazing reviews and feedback and has opened the way to a steadily growing fan-base for Dol Ammad

Ocean Dynamics” is another unexplored fantasy trip (this time inspired by the powers of the sea) that reveals the band’s maturity and evolution.

Apart from the more technical and challenging drumming that Alex Holzwarth produced this time, “Ocean Dynamics” will feature one of the greatest singers in the melodic metal world, DC Cooper ("Silent Force", ex-"Royal Hunt"), as a guest singer together with the choir in the song “Aquatic Majesty”. 

Seeking total artistic freedom and control, Dol Ammad have formed their own personal record label “Electronicartmetal Records” which will carry the task of releasing Dol Ammad’s works as well as many other projects that Thanasis Lightbridge has planned for the near future.

New Release

"Ocean Dynamics"

01. Thalassa
......Dominion I
02. Thalassa
......Dominion II
03. Thalassa
......Dominion III
04. Thalassa
......Dominion IV
05. Solarwinds
06. Descent
07. Lava
08. Aquatic Majesty
09. Liquid Desert
10. Heart Of The Sea

Ocean Dynamics” is released in a high quality Digipack format featuring stunning art crafted by renowned Australian “flames” artist, Andrew Ostin. Featuring a 14 member classical choir, with the contribution of drummer Alex Holzwarth (Rhapsody, Sieges Even) and the guest appearance of vocalist D.C. Cooper (Silent Force, ex-Royal Hunt).

Music composed and arranged by Thanasis Lightbridge, Lyrics by Thanasis Lightbridge and George Harisopoulos. Recorded, mixed and mastered at “Theeta” Studio Thessaloniki. Produced by Argy Stream and Thanasis Lightbridge
Guest lead vocals on “Aquatic Majesty” by DC Cooper. Solo voices and narrations by Kortessa 
Drums on “Descent” performed by Thanasis Lightbridge. Artwork by Andrew Ostin. Photos by Manos Papadopoulos and Aggelos Zymaras at “Stereosis” Studio Thessaloniki. Make up by Frida Georgiou sponsored by Clarins Cosmetics 
Layout and art direction by Thanasis Lightbridge, Kortessa and Stamatis Kritikos. Alex Holzwarth uses exclusively Premier drums, Paiste cymbals and Vic-Firth drumsticks 

If you would like any other information about the band, please send e-Mail to Dol Ammad.

For more information and every thing about the band, please visit DOL AMMAD HOME PAGEN
This page was optimized
for use with Netscape
and IE 4.0 or later
Best view 800x600 HiColor
Bands and Artists Contact, questions or comments, live dates and news

Please send e-mail to: Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal

Back To
Main Page
© Copyright Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - 2006