......................................THE BAND AND RECORD OF THE MONTH
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - Logo
Blackfield are Steven Wilson and Aviv Geffen, I really can say: "finally we found an amazing and an perfect musical combination". This musical combination comes from two exceptional musicians, both with different musical styles, but with same musical idea, creating melodies full of energy. The sound is crystalline and clean and the melodies are very beautiful and enjoyable with soft and hypnotic compositions, where most of the songs flow around rich and impressive guitar solos, together with a emotional vocal lines, combining perfectly with the quality of the sound. Blackfield is not really a traditional Progressive Rock Band, but the music from them is a journey around many styles as Melodic Rock, Progressive Rock, Classic Rock, but the most important thing is: they not need presenting a specific musical style, in fact, they are playing an amazing universal music. If you like "Opeth" (Damnation), "Porcupine Tree" and "Barclay James Harvest" you will love Blackfield. Fantastic, brilliant and an indispensable work, highly recommendable...

The main musicians on Blackfield are:
Steven Wilson and Aviv Geffen.
Strings on "Open Mind", "Lullaby", "Summer" and "Hello" performed by the Illusion Quartet conducted by Daniel Salomon.
Drums on "Open MInd" and "Pain" played by  Gavin Harrison,  Drums on "Blackfield", "The Hole in Me" and "Hello" played by Chris Maitland. Drums on "Glow" and "Summer" played by Geremy Kaplan.

Two years back and forth on the London-Tel-Aviv flight path, a mutual
artistic curiosity, and a close friendship are the components that gave birth to Aviv and Steven's Blackfield project.

Aviv Geffen, a highly successful solo artist and outspoken (not to mention controversial) peace campaigner, with a string of gold albums in his own country, discovered the music of Steven's band Porcupine Tree in the mid 90's and followed their career development. In 2000 he invited the band to perform some concerts in Israel and met with Steven in London to discuss the idea. Something clicked and before long they had already collaborated on the very first Blackfield song. In 2001 the two met in a studio in Tel Aviv with the intention of recording a one-off EP. So pleased were they and the record company with the results however, that the EP originally scheduled for release in 2001 was cancelled and the decision was made to continue writing and recording with the aim of completing a full length LP. Over the next 18 months the pair fitted in Blackfield writing and recording sessions whenever they could between their other commitments and finally in October 2003 the album was complete.

The collaborative songs alongside songs written by each separately brought a unique meeting of cultures, which resulted in a sophisticated, melodic and melancholic rock album.

The 10 track album was first issued by Helicon/Universal in Israel in February 2004 and spawned two huge hit singles in "Hello" and "Pain". The success of the album meant that the next step to making Blackfield a live band could be taken, and in February a 5 piece band version of Blackfield made their debut by performing on several prime time Israeli TV shows.

In the meantime an international release for the album was arranged through Snapper Music in the UK, and the album was issued in August to phenomenal reviews in Europe and America, many hailing it as a masterpiece and an instant classic. Aviv and Steven undertook a major promotional campaign and the live band played two special concerts to launch the album, one each in their two home towns of Tel Aviv and London. The Blackfield album looks set to be one of the most important releases of 2004.

The Blackfield album has been making an impact across Europe, in particular the single "Blackfield" which is currently playlisted by the BBC in London, and is also number one in the requests chart at National Polish radio station 3.

The album meanwhile is selling very well across Europe, and has so far charted in Greece at no 11, and also in Finland.

.New Release


01) Open Mind 
02) Blackfield 
03) Glow 
04) Scars 
05) Lullaby 
06) Pain 
07) Summer 
08) Cloudy Now 
09) The Hole In Me 
10) Hello 

01) Perfect World 
02) Where is My Love? 
03) Cloudy Now (live)
04) Enhanced Track:
... ..Blackfield (video
. ....directed by
... ..Lasse Hoile)

Blackfield (international CD edition with bonus disc) Aug 2004

All songs produced and performed by Blackfield: Aviv Geffen and Steven Wilson. Except music on "Sears" performed by The Mistakes. All songs written by Aviv Geffen and Steven Wilson except "Blackfield" and "Lullaby" by Steven Wilson, and "Pain" and "The Hole In Me" by Aviv Geffen. Recorded at various times between 2001-2003. Studios ZaZa - Tel Aviv, Israel;  New Rising  - Colchester, UK; No Man´s Land - Hemel Hempstead, UK. Final mixes by Steven Wilson at No Man´s Land, UK, September 2003.

To get in contact with the Blackfield, send an e-mail to Snapper Music

For more information and every thing about the musicians, please visit BLACKFIELD HOME PAGEN
This page was optimized
for use with Netscape
and IE 4.0 or later
Best view 800x600 HiColor
Bands and Artists Contact, comments, live dates and news

Please send e-mail to: Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal

Back To
Main Page
© Copyright Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal